About An Vanderlinden

WHEN AN ARTIST GOT BLACK BLOOD

An Vanderlinden, master of visual arts, adores black. And coal as well. Since she was raised in a coal miner’s family, she has what they call “black blood in the veins”.

Vanderlinden is fascinated by all shades of black and the light the coal is reflecting. She hammers and sieves the coal in different formats and brings it in a structured way on black canvasses. That’s how she becomes different tones of light.

COALPAINT “CHARBON DE BERINGEN”

In the beginning of 2017 – in her quest for the blackest black paint- An started to triturate coal into pigment. Throughout her experiments she found out that all types of coal show another black. But the blackest of all is the coal of Beringen. She has been working on this intensively during one year before it resulted in a qualityful durable paint.

ARTIST IN RESIDENCE

Steenkoolverf Charbon de Beringen - An VanderlindenShe was using this paint during 4 months in the biggest and most beautiful atelier that she could imagine: the unloading floor at the coal washery hall of Beringen.

Totally overwhelmed by this venue, its environment got more and more visible in her work. First there was the chaos, the dust, and the seducing darkness of the coal washery. Then the stairs got a place in her work, just like the rails and the open doors. The light makes a whirling entry and is becoming more and more intensive, getting dazzling in her last painting.

SYMBOLISM

An’s work is about respect, about transition and hope. Respect for the coal itself, and for the miner who brought it out of the bottom of the earth. A centuries-old material got now a new future, just like the mine building. A shiny future, just like the reflection of coal

EXPO CHARBON DE BERINGEN
february 10 – march 3, 2019

CC CASINO BERINGEN
Kioskplein 25
3582 Beringen (B)

à propos du An Vanderlinden

UNE ARTISTE AU SANG NOIR

An Vanderlinden, titulaire d’un master en arts visuelles, aime le noir. Et le charbon.

Elle a grandi dans une famille de mineurs, et elle a – comme on dit- le sang noir dans les veines

Vanderlinden est fascinée par tous les tons de noir et par la lumière reflétée par le charbon. Elle martèle le charbon et le fait passer au tamis obtenant de différents formats, et l’applique d’une façon structurée sur ses toiles noires.

LA PEINTURE AU PIGMENT DE « CHARBON DE BERINGEN »

Dans sa quête pour une peinture qui soit plus noire que le noir – début 2017- An commençait à triturer du charbon pour obtenir un pigment. Elle a pu conclure de ses expériences que le noir des différents types de charbon avait un ton différent. Mais décidemment le charbon de Beringen est le plus noir de tous. Elle a travaillé dessus intensivement pendant un an pour en développer une peinture durable et de qualité.

ARTIST IN RESIDENCE

Steenkoolverf Charbon de Beringen - An VanderlindenAvec cette peinture elle travaillé pendant 4 mois dans le plus beau er plus grand atelier qu’elle pouvait s’imaginer : le hall de la mine de Beringen où on déchargeait le charbon avant de le passer au lavoir.

Envahie par l’espace où elle travaillait, ses tableaux font transparaitre de plus en plus l’ambiance qu’elle a vécue. D’abord il y avait le désordre, la poussière, et l’obscurité séduisante du lavoir à charbon. Après la multitude d’escaliers du bâtiment a trouvé une place dans son œuvre, tout autant que les rails et les portes qui restaient ouvertes. La lumière tournoyante qui passe par toutes les portes et qui s’infiltre vers l’intérieur devient plus intense de plus qu’il fait chaud, s’avérant presque aveuglant dans son dernier tableau.

SYMBOLISME

L’œuvre de An traite du respect, de la transition et de l’espoir. Du respect pour la matière qui est le charbon et pour le mineur qui l’a apporté à la surface. Un matériel qui date de plusieurs siècles, et qui, tout comme le bâtiment de la mine, a reçu un nouveau futur. Un futur rayonnant, tout comme le reflet brillant du charbon.

EXPO CHARBON DE BERINGEN
10 février  – 3 mars 2019

CC CASINO BERINGEN
Kioskplein 25, 3582 Beringen, Belgique